Research Guides: Constitutional History and Law: Amendments 11-27

11th Amendement

Suits Against a State

11th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 11th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
The Eleventh Amendment: Common Interpretation
The Eleventh Amendment’s text prohibits the federal courts from hearing certain lawsuits against states.
Suits Against States
Passed by Congress March 4, 1794. Ratified February 7, 1795. The 11th Amendment changed a portion of Article III, Section 2.

12th Amendment

Election of President and Vice-President

12th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 12th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Election of President and Vice President
Passed by Congress December 9, 1803. Ratified June 15, 1804. The 12th Amendment changed a portion of Article II, Section 1. A portion of the 12th Amendment was changed by the 20th Amendment.

13th Amendment

Abolition of Slavery

13th Amendment
This handwritten congressional copy of the amendment that banned slavery is signed by President Lincoln, Vice President Hannibal Hamlin, and over 150 members of Congress.
Abolition of Slavery
Passed by Congress January 31, 1865. Ratified December 6, 1865. The 13th Amendment changed a portion of Article IV, Section 2.

14th Amendment

Privileges and Immunities, Due Process, Equal Protection, Apportionment of Representatives, Civil War Disqualification and Debt

14th Amendement: Full Text
Full text of the 14th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Citizenship Rights, Equal Protection, Apportionment, Civil War Debt
Passed by Congress June 13, 1866. Ratified July 9, 1868. The 14th Amendment changed a portion of Article I, Section 2. A portion of the 14th Amendment was changed by the 26th Amendment.

15th Amendment

Rights Not to Be Denied on Account of Race

15th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 15th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Income Tax
Passed by Congress July 2, 1909. Ratified February 3, 1913. The 16th Amendment changed a portion of Article I, Section 9.

16th Amendment

Income Tax

16th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 16th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Popular Election of Senators
Passed by Congress May 13, 1912. Ratified April 8, 1913. The 17th Amendment changed a portion of Article I, Section 3.

17th Amendment

Election of Senators

17th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 17th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Popular Election of Senators
Passed by Congress May 13, 1912. Ratified April 8, 1913. The 17th Amendment changed a portion of Article I, Section 3.

18th Amendment

Prohibition

18th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 18th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Prohibition of Liquor
Passed by Congress December 18, 1917. Ratified January 16, 1919. Repealed by the 21st Amendment, December 5, 1933

19th Amendment

Women's Right to Vote

19th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 19th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Women’s Right to Vote
Passed by Congress June 4, 1919. Ratified August 18, 1920.

20th Amendment

Presidential Term and Succession

20th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 20th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Presidential Term and Succession, Assembly of Congress
Passed by Congress March 2, 1932. Ratified January 23, 1933. The 20th Amendment changed a portion of Article I, Section 4, and a portion of the 12th Amendment.

21st Amendment

Repeal of Prohibition

21st Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 21st Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Repeal of Prohibition
Passed by Congress February 20, 1933. Ratified December 5, 1933. The 21st Amendment repealed the 18th Amendment.

22nd Amendment

Two Term Limit on President

22nd Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 22nd Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Two-Term Limit on Presidency
Passed by Congress March 21, 1947. Ratified February 27, 1951.

23rd Amendment

Presidential Vote in D.C.

23rd Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 23rd Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Presidential Vote for D.C.
Passed by Congress June 16, 1960. Ratified March 29, 1961.

24th Amendment

Poll Tax

24th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 24th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Abolition of Poll Taxes
Passed by Congress August 27, 1962. Ratified January 23, 1964.

25th Amendment

Presidential Succession

25th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 25th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Presidential Disability and Succession
Passed by Congress July 6, 1965. Ratified February 10, 1967. The 25th Amendment changed a portion of Article II, Section 1.

26th Amendment

Right to Vote at Age 18

26th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 26th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Right to Vote at Age 18
Passed by Congress March 23, 1971. Ratified July 1, 1971. The 26th Amendment changed a portion of the 14th Amendment.

27th Amendment

Compensation of Members of Congress

27th Amendment: Full Text
Full text of the 27th Amendment from the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
Congressional Compensation
Originally proposed September 25, 1789. Ratified May 7, 1992.