Research Guides: Cite Sources: Cite Your Sources

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.

MLA Handbook 9th Edition

Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.

The Everyday Writer

Empowering and inspiring, Andrea Lunsford offers a handbook for our times. The Everyday Writer, Seventh Edition, invites students to think rhetorically, communicate ethically, listen respectfully, experiment with language, and adopt openness as a habit of mind necessary for democracy. The seventh edition introduces new chapters on college expectations and on language and identity as well as substantial new advice for reading and interrogating sources, seeking common ground with opponents, using varieties of English, and being open to new approaches in common academic genres. New student models of rhetorical analysis, researched argument, speech, and translingual narrative invigorate the book.

Cite Right, Second Edition

Thousands of students have turned to veteran teacher Charles Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly--and avoid plagiarism--when writing their research papers. This new edition of Cite Right, the popular overview of all major systems of citation, has been updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books. Best of all, it's very easy to use. Lipson first explains why it is so important to use citations--and to present them accurately--in research writing. He then outlines the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work: Chicago; MLA; APA; AAA (anthropology and ethnography); CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy;and mathematics, computer science, and engineering. New sections have been added on IEEE and ASCE styles, often used in engineering. Each style is presented simply and clearly with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to the sciences and medicine. The second edition has also been updated to include a discussion of the merits and pitfalls of citation software, as well as new examples showing proper citation style for video blogs, instant messages, social networking sites, and other forms of digital media. Based on deep experience in the academic trenches,this thoroughly revised edition is intended to appeal to anyone--student, professional, or academic--who needs an efficient, authoritative guide for citing sources across a wide range of disciplines.

The Chicago Manual of Style

Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words.

Student's Guide to Writing College Papers

High school students, two-year college students, and university students all need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.

MLA Handbook 9th Edition

Teaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.

The Everyday Writer

Empowering and inspiring, Andrea Lunsford offers a handbook for our times. The Everyday Writer, Seventh Edition, invites students to think rhetorically, communicate ethically, listen respectfully, experiment with language, and adopt openness as a habit of mind necessary for democracy. The seventh edition introduces new chapters on college expectations and on language and identity as well as substantial new advice for reading and interrogating sources, seeking common ground with opponents, using varieties of English, and being open to new approaches in common academic genres. New student models of rhetorical analysis, researched argument, speech, and translingual narrative invigorate the book.

Cite Right, Second Edition

Thousands of students have turned to veteran teacher Charles Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly--and avoid plagiarism--when writing their research papers. This new edition of Cite Right, the popular overview of all major systems of citation, has been updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books. Best of all, it's very easy to use. Lipson first explains why it is so important to use citations--and to present them accurately--in research writing. He then outlines the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work: Chicago; MLA; APA; AAA (anthropology and ethnography); CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy;and mathematics, computer science, and engineering. New sections have been added on IEEE and ASCE styles, often used in engineering. Each style is presented simply and clearly with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to the sciences and medicine. The second edition has also been updated to include a discussion of the merits and pitfalls of citation software, as well as new examples showing proper citation style for video blogs, instant messages, social networking sites, and other forms of digital media. Based on deep experience in the academic trenches,this thoroughly revised edition is intended to appeal to anyone--student, professional, or academic--who needs an efficient, authoritative guide for citing sources across a wide range of disciplines.

The Chicago Manual of Style

Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words.

Student's Guide to Writing College Papers

High school students, two-year college students, and university students all need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.

Cite Sources: Cite Your Sources

Websites

Ethics and Integrity in the Academic Environment

Books

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

MLA Handbook 9th Edition

The Everyday Writer

Cite Right, Second Edition

The Chicago Manual of Style

Student's Guide to Writing College Papers

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

MLA Handbook 9th Edition

The Everyday Writer

Cite Right, Second Edition

The Chicago Manual of Style

Student's Guide to Writing College Papers

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association