T. S. Eliot
- T. S. Eliot: Poetry FoundationThe 1948 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, T.S. Eliot is highly distinguished as a poet, a literary critic, a dramatist, an editor, and a publisher. In 1910 and 1911, while still a college student, he wrote “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock,” published in Poetry magazine, and other poems that are landmarks in the history of modern literature...
- T.S. Eliot BritannicaT.S. Eliot, in full Thomas Stearns Eliot, (born September 26, 1888, St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.—died January 4, 1965, London, England), American-English poet, playwright, literary critic, and editor, a leader of the Modernist movement in poetry in such works as The Waste Land (1922) and Four Quartets (1943). Eliot exercised a strong influence on Anglo-American culture from the 1920s until late in the century...
Research & Reference
- Eliot, T. S.: Credo ReferenceOne of the most influential poets and critics of the twentieth century, Thomas Stearns Eliot (1888-1965) revitalized and, in many important respects, redefined the nature of literary texts and traditions and the role of criticism in relation to them. In numerous essays and lectures, he argued that neither poetry nor criticism should be a genteel and belletristic enterprise; rather, the two work together analytically in the construction of literary history. This approach to the literary artifact, part of a larger modernist attempt to understand the role of the critic in relation to literature, enabled a number of critical methodologies, particularly the kinds of practical criticism and close reading favored by new critics like I. A. Richards and Cleanth Brooks...
- T.S. Eliot: The Nobel PrizeThomas Stearns Eliot (1888-1965) was born in St. Louis, Missouri, of an old New England family. He was educated at Harvard and did graduate work in philosophy at the Sorbonne, Harvard, and Merton College, Oxford. He settled in England, where he was for a time a schoolmaster and a bank clerk, and eventually literary editor for the publishing house Faber & Faber, of which he later became a director...
- T S Eliot: British LibraryThe American poet, critic and publisher T S Eliot was born into a comfortable and historically distinguished family in St. Louis, Missouri in 1888. He studied at Smith Academy and then Harvard, where he undertook an eclectic range of courses before settling on a BA in what would now be called Comparative Literature and an MA in English Literature. He spent a year studying at the Sorbonne in Paris, and returned to Harvard to work on the philosophy of consciousness...
T.S. Eliot
- T.S. EliotListen to an excerpt from Eliot's "The Waste Land." Lisa M. Steiman describes the intentional sense of loss in the poem.
Author's Works & Perspectives
Collected Poems, 1909-1962
There is no more authoritative collection of the poetry that Eliot himself wished to preserve than this volume, published two years before his death in 1965. Poet, dramatist, critic, and editor, T. S. Eliot was one of the defining figures of twentieth-century poetry. This edition of Collected Poems 1909-1962 includes The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock along with Four Quartets, The Waste Land, and several other poems.
The Waste Land
For ease of reading, this Norton Critical Edition presents The Waste Land as it first appeared in the American edition (Boni & Liveright), with Eliot's notes at the end. "Contexts" provides readers with invaluable materials on The Waste Land's sources, composition, and publication history. "Criticism" traces the poem's reception with twenty-five reviews and essays, from first reactions through the end of the twentieth century. Included are reviews published in the Times Literary Supplement, along with selections by Virginia Woolf, Gilbert Seldes, Edmund Wilson, Elinor Wylie, Conrad Aiken, Charles Powell, Gorham Munson, Malcolm Cowley, Ralph Ellison, John Crowe Ransom, I. A. Richards, F. R. Leavis, Cleanth Brooks, Delmore Schwartz, Denis Donoghue, Robert Langbaum, Marianne Thormählen, A. D. Moody, Ronald Bush, Maud Ellman, and Tim Armstrong. A Chronology and Selected Bibliography are included.
Selected Poems
A collection of T.S. Eliot's early and most important poems--an important collection by one of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The poems in this volume represent the poet's most important work before Four Quartets, and were selected by Eliot himself. Included here is some of the most celebrated verse in modern literature. From "The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock," to "The Waste Land," to "The Hollow Men," to "Ash Wednesday," this collection contains Eliot's finest early work.
T.S. Eliot and Beethoven's Music
- T.S. Eliot and Beethoven's MusicEliot is greatly influenced by Beethoven's late quartets and wishes he could attain the same kind of suffering in his poetry as Beethoven captures.