McKee Library

November 3, 2020 is election day in the United States, with early voting beginning in October for many states. Prior to voting, it is important for you to understand the issues and carefully evaluate each candidate's positions. 

How Do I Register to Vote?

You can register to vote at https://vote.gov/. Another great site for determining voter restrictions is https://www.vote.org/. 

Who Should I Vote For? 

Not sure which candidate you would like to vote for? Check out an online quiz such as the ones at I Side With or ProCon.org. It is also a great idea to spend a few moments looking over the website of each candidate.  The key is to take time to educate yourself and know your own stance on key issues. The books recommended below are a great place to start! 

Recommended Reading

Parties and Elections in America by Louis Sandy Maisel; Mark D. Brewer
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781442201033
This book covers all elements of parties and the electoral process, including local, state, and national party organizations; American party history and party systems; state and local nominations; state and local elections; presidential nominations; and presidential elections.

Crippled America: How to Make America Great Again by Donald J. Trump

Call Number: JK275 .T78 2015

ISBN: 9781501137969

Look at the state of the world right now. It's a terrible mess, and that's putting it mildly. There has never been a more dangerous time. The politicians and special interests in Washington, DC, are directly responsible for the mess we are in. So why should we continue listening to them? It's time to bring America back to its rightful owners-the American people. I'm not going to play the same game politicians have been playing for decades-all talk, no action, while special interests and lobbyists dictate our laws. I am shaking up the establishment on both sides of the political aisle because I can't be bought. 

 

Promise Me, Dad by Joe Biden

Call Number: E840.8.B54 A3 2017

ISBN: 9781250171672

A deeply moving memoir about the year that would forever change both a family and a country. In November 2014, thirteen members of the Biden family gathered on Nantucket for Thanksgiving, a tradition they had been celebrating for the past forty years; it was the one constant in what had become a hectic, scrutinized, and overscheduled life. 

 

 

The Truths We Hold by Kamala Harris

Call Number: E901.1.H37 A3 2019

ISBN: 9780525560715

From Kamala Harris, one of America's most inspiring political leaders and Joe Biden's pick for his 2020 running mate, a book about the core truths that unite us, and the long struggle to discern what those truths are and how best to act upon them, in her own life and across the life of our country Senator Kamala Harris's commitment to speaking truth is informed by her upbringing.  

Give Us the Ballot by Ari Berman

Call Number: JK1846 .B47 2015

ISBN: 9780374158279

Countless books have been written about the civil rights movement, but far less attention has been paid to what happened after the dramatic passage of the Voting Rights Act (VRA) in 1965 and the turbulent forces it unleashed. Give Us the Ballot tells this story for the first time.

 

 

 

Presidential Elections 1789-2008 by CQ Researcher

Call Number: JK528 .P75 2010

ISBN: 9781604265415

This comprehensive resource explains with detail and clarity the evolution of presidential elections.

 

McKee Library is excited to display the colorful creative works of alumnus and former trustee, Tim Bainum, M.D., ’70. Tim began his journey as an artist at 10 years old, when he first painted with oils. He learned several techniques from his great-aunts, who were talented, self-taught landscape artists. His interest in art further developed during his time at Southern; while pursuing his pre-med degree, he took art appreciation and ceramics classes as electives, and he thoroughly enjoyed learning about art history. 

While medical school, marriage, and working in his profession contributed to a temporary pause in his artistic career, Tim began painting again in 2000 utilizing acrylics. For the last four years he has taken art lessons twice a week, and fast-drying oils and watercolors have become his medium. His palette is often violets, blues, and colors of the sunset, and he draws much inspiration from the landscapes he encounters living along the Caddo River in southwest Arkansas. 

Come enjoy the beauty of his paintings on the second floor of McKee Library near the media desk. Our personal favorites are his paintings featuring Hawaiian skies and landscapes! Tim’s artwork will be on exhibit until May 2021.

McKee Library is excited to celebrate 50 years since our grand opening on September 24, 1970. Since that time, McKee Library has continued to innovate in order to meet the needs of our campus community.

On September 24, 1970, Southern Missionary College held opening ceremonies for the newly-minted McKee Library. Named in honor of Mr. and Mrs. O.D. McKee, major financial contributors to the campaign, the new facility was a significant improvement for a thriving campus over the much smaller A.G. Daniells Memorial Library in Daniells Hall.

Digital Collections

We invite you to view our collection of photographs that highlights events from the library's 50 years of service to Southern Adventist University and our 50th anniversary banners in KnowledgeExchange@Southern. A unique collection of before and after pictures is available on our website. 

Homecoming Weekend Presentation

McKee Library’s 50th anniversary celebration will be featured during this year’s virtual homecoming. Together with Southern Scholars, our featured speaker is Zane Yi (‘00) who will present Empowered by Knowledge on Friday, October 30, at 4 pm. This presentation will be presented via Zoom. A direct link to the virtual presentation will be available at southern.edu/homecoming. 

More Information & Questions

Please contact Deyse Bravo at dbravo@southern.edu for more information regarding the library’s 50th anniversary.

The library is pleased to announce two new databases to our collection. These databases have been placed in the library’s A to Z database listing and on many research guides.  

African American Experience

The African American Experience supports research and scholarship in the field of African American Studies with a full library of works analyzing the contributions and challenges of African Americans throughout history, including the complete WPA Slave Narratives collection. This comprehensive database of more than 8,000 articles, biographies, primary documents, and media is overseen by leading scholars in the field, including Spencer Crew, PhD, interim director of the National Museum of African American History and Culture. In addition to historical accounts ranging from the travails of slavery to contemporary evidence of institutionalized racism, The African American Experience offers scholarly commentary addressing African American contributions in the fields of politics, business, social and applied sciences, the military, the arts, and entertainment, keeping pace with the ongoing evolution of the African American narrative and its vital place in U.S. history.

Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas

A recipient of the American Library Association's prestigious Dartmouth medal, Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas applies an academic lens to U.S. history through the study of popular culture. Curated and created by historians, cultural critics, and award winning authors, this full library presents more than 4,200 primary sources and more than 3,700 reference articles, as well as 100 scholarly essays spanning each decade from the 1900s to today. The primary sources—including documents, photographs, video, and audio—give life to the names, moments, works, and trends that have shaped American pop culture, from the Gibson Girls of the early 20th century to the social media landscape of the 21st century.