(EBSCO). Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This collection will help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings, whether they are learning how to draw blood, administer medications, or help deliver a baby. The videos include titles from trusted producers such as Medcom-Trainex, Elsevier, NEVCO, Center for Phlebotomy Education, InJoy Health Education, Classroom Productions, and others.
Special Tests – a 95-part series presenting special tests used in physical therapy, including varus and valgus stress tests for the knee, finger, wrist, and elbow; Trendelenberg’s test; the 90–90 straight leg test; the patellar grind test; McMurray test; anterior/posterior rib compression test; Milgrim’s test; and much more.
Taping and Wrapping Procedures – a 41-part series on wrapping and taping for sports medicine, covering different types of tape and elastic wraps, the RICE method, and steps for wrapping and taping a wide range of sprains, bruises, and other injuries.
Joint Mobilizations – a 14-part series providing details on joint mobilization techniques, including posterior glides, subtalar glides, tibial glides, humeral glides, ulnar glides, and radiocarpal glides.
Proprioceptive Neuromuscular Facilitation – a seven-part series demonstrating the D1 flexion, D1 extension, D2 flexion, and D2 extension stretching techniques.
History of Physical Therapy – discusses the ways in which physical education, advances in medicine, the polio epidemic, and the World Wars influenced the growth of physical therapy. It also discusses applications of physical therapy.
Sports Massage – includes two hours of sports massage detailing 13 sessions that will give students the tools to work with runners, cyclists, swimmers, tennis players, and other athletes.
Therapeutic Strategies for Degenerative Joint Disease: Overcoming Pain and Improving Function: A Lecture – offers case studies and mock patient presentations and reviews the assessment process, detailing the key steps of the pathology, evaluation techniques, and concepts, specifically including skills to evaluate and treat the degenerative joint.
New Paradigms in Sports Concussion – presents the latest research and developments in the areas of concussion measurements and mechanisms of injury, physiology of recovery, implications of repeated injury, and the evolving legal environment concerning this injury.
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
*More than 360 full-text periodicals
*Nearly 220 full-text books
*Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 790 academic journals, magazines and trade publications and more than 220 books
*A collection of over 63,000 images
(EBSCO) Drawing from distinguished museums, Art Museum Image Gallery is a database of high-quality art images and related multimedia for use in non-profit institutions. It offers detailed information about thousands of artworks from 3000 B.C. to the present and from cultures around the world.
More than 156,000 quality images
Entries from 3000 B.C. to the present
Drawings and cartoons
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
The Digital Library of Tennessee provides access to rare and unique primary sources housed in libraries, archives, and museums in the state of Tennessee. Explore photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories, maps, original art, music, material culture, and archival material that documents the cultural heritage of the state of Tennessee from the Pre-Columbian era to the present.
DynaMed publishes clinically-organized topics which are continuously updated as new information indicates a need for change in practice. DynaMed content ranges from comprehensive reviews of diseases, conditions, and abnormal findings to highly focused topics on evaluation, differential diagnosis, and management. Drug and laboratory monographs developed and maintained by IBM Micromedex are also included.
Humanities Source Ultimate offers access to key content covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It also includes hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes to round out student research.
Content Includes 1,683 active full-text journals and magazines. Subjects Include Archaeology, Area studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary and social criticism, Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, and Religion and theology.
This collection brings together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. It currently contains over 102,000 pages
The Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar. Music Index cites: • Book Reviews • Obituaries • News Periodicals • News and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry
Nursing Reference Center provides nurses with evidence-based resources that they can access for quick reference at the point of care including the following: Quick lessons that provide disease and condition overviews that map to the nursing workflow. Evidence-based care sheets that provide summaries of what is known about a disease or condition and the best treatment options. Nursing cultural competencies that provide information on how to treat patients from diverse cultures, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information.
This collection brings together 250+ videos from such trusted producers as Wolters Kluwer Health, Castalia Media, Healthy Learning, U.S. Kinesiology Training Institute, and PESI, Inc., that will help physical therapy students learn and practice crucial techniques in ways textbooks alone cannot.
Aspiring physical therapists can find short instructional clips that cover a wide range of physical therapy interventions and examinations—from stretching techniques to wrapping a shin splint—as well as seminars from top trainers and in-depth documentaries on the history of physical and occupational therapy, massage, and biomechanics.
Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
A detailed, accurate, and evidence-based 3D reconstruction of human anatomy. Primal’s experts produced the model using real scan and imaging data. Advanced academic research and hundreds of thousands of development hours underpin its creation, exhaustively peer-reviewed so you can use solutions with confidence.
RefWorks is a premier reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty and librarians. RefWorks integrates with Microsoft Word and Google Docs for in-text citations in your chosen citation style.**When registering for an account, use your Southern Adventist University email address.
Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source is an essential reference database for rehabilitation clinicians. It offers full-text sports medicine and rehabilitation journals, books, trade publications and magazines. Topics include orthopedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise and physical therapy.
More than 150 full-text peer-reviewed journals
More than 40 full-text books, trade publications and magazines
Indexing for more than 220 sports medicine and rehabilitation journals
More than 340,000 records dating back to 1963
This evidence-based, point-of-care resource is for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists, and rehabilitation professionals. With Rehabilitation Reference Center, therapists can access the most current information in their specialty so they can provide the best care to their patients.
Nearly 800 clinical reviews
Nearly 100 research instruments
Information from AHFS on over 11,700 drugs and their manufacturers
More than 11,800 exercise images
Key reference handbooks
More than 3,000 relevant patient education topics in both English and Spanish
Relevant clinical updates
(GALE) For standardized test preparation, researching undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, and exploring careers. It includes practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exams.
World Politics Review is a daily, online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs. Its original articles are written by a network of more than 400 contributors from around the world, including subject-matter experts from journalism, research organizations, academia, government, and elsewhere. This database currently has thousands of articles in its archives and produces more than 75,000 words of original content per month.