Locating Empirical Articles
In some databases, you can add methodology as a limiter to your search. This can be done on the homepage of the database, or on the left-hand side of the results page. If the database you are using does not offer a methodology section limiter, you can also add method* (note you will use the * character in the search box) to search for articles that have a methodology section.
The following databases all include a methodology limiter:
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative database contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. You will find full-text coverage 5,400 journals, as well as indexing of an additional 1,700 titles.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycBOOKS includes the newest scholarly and professional books published by APA including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve deep into specific subfields within psychology. Book chapters and peer-reviewed books from recent and historical titles, with the earliest record from 1620.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO includes citations from all psychology and related disciplines. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. You will find abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health.
