Research and Reference
- Presbyterian: Credo ReferenceA Credo Reference landing page on Presbyterians. This page includes links to reference works, articles, images, and related concepts.
- Presbyterian Historical SocietyThe Presbyterian Historical Society collects records of historic value from congregations, mid councils, and national agencies. PHS also prioritizes the collection of personal papers from prominent Presbyterians and ecumenical leaders and serves as the archives of several ecumenical organizations, including the American Sunday School Union, the Federal and National Council of Churches, and Religious News Service.
Internet Resources
- Presbyterian TheologyAlthough the term “Presbyterian” refers to the system of church government adopted by these churches, the essence of Presbyterianism, which is one of the two church traditions stemming from Calvin’s Geneva reformation, is the belief in the sovereign, independent, triune God who has entered into a covenant to save a people for his own glory.
- Theological Seminaries at a GlanceEveryday life has changed significantly since the first of your Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) theological seminaries were founded in 1794 and 1812. Over the years, additional theological institutions were established, carrying on the Presbyterian tradition of providing educated leadership for congregations from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Rim.
- Who We Are: Presbyterian ChurchFor over four centuries, Presbyterians have been responding to the call of Jesus Christ, taking the gospel into the world and bearing witness to Christ’s saving love to the ends of the earth. Today the Holy Spirit is still on the move, calling us to share in what God is doing in the world.
Streaming Media
- The Presbyterian ChurchIn this program, Dennis Wholey has a conversation about Presbyterianism with Senior Pastor Michael L. Lindvall of The Brick Presbyterian Church, in New York City. Topics of discussion include the influence of John Calvin; the nonhierarchical nature of the Presbyterian Church; core Presbyterian beliefs; the Holy Spirit as “the present tense of God”; and the litmus test generally used in the Western Christian tradition to establish which gospels should rightfully be a part of the Bible. In addition, the history of The Brick Presbyterian Church and the order of worship as it is conducted there are outlined by Ellsworth G. Stanton III, clerk of session. (27 minutes)
Perspectives
Presbyterian Beliefs
This book is a clear introduction to the major beliefs of Presbyterians. It is written nontechnically to provide readers with a clear discussion of what Presbyterians believe about key theological topics. This book is ideal for personal and group study in churches.
A Brief History of the Presbyterians
A Brief History of the Presbyterians offers laity and clergy a succint and thorough introduction to the history of Presbyterianism. James Smylie chronicles the origins of the Reformed tradition and carries the sage through each subsequent era up to the eve of the twenty-first century, focusing on Presbyterianism in North America. All the major figures in the history of Presbyterianism, such as John Calvin, Francis Makemie, and John Witherspoon are included, as well as a host of others.
Presbyterian Pluralism
Focusing on the heated ideological struggles that occurred within the Presbyterian Church, U.S.A., during the late 1800s and early 1900s, this book offers a compelling and original explanation of how diverse viewpoints can be accommodated within a religious institution. The Presbyterian example, William J. Weston argues, shows clearly that competition is the only effective kind of pluralism for a church --one that leads neither to institutional paralysis nor to irreconcilable division. Much of the current literature in the sociology of religion sees intradenominational conflict in terms of culture wars between two great factions or parties. However, in the competition model that Weston posits in this book, it is actually a third party - the loyalist center - that holds the power and that ultimately determines the outcome of the struggle. Essential reading for sociologists and historians of religion, Presbyterian Pluralism reaches important conclusions that will engage anyone concerned with conflict inside organizational structures and how it might be contained.
Presbyterian Hymnal
This exceptional hymnal features more than six hundred hymns, psalms, and spiritual songs in contemporary language that is both familiar and inclusive. The selections are arranged according to the seasons and festivals of the Christian year, theological topics, and specific occasions for worship. A complete set of indexes is included.
Puritanism
Written by a leading expert on the Puritans, this brief, informative volume offers a wealth of background on this key religious movement. This book traces the shaping, triumph, and decline of the Puritan world, while also examining the role of religion in the shaping of American society and the role of the Puritan legacy in American history. Francis J. Bremer discusses the rise of Puritanism in the English Reformation, the struggle of the reformers to purge what they viewed as the corruptions of Roman Catholicism from the Elizabethan church, and the struggle with the Stuart monarchs that led to a brief Puritan triumph under Oliver Cromwell. It also examines the effort of Puritans who left England to establish a godly kingdom in America. Bremer examines puritan theology, views on family and community, their beliefs about the proper relationship between religion and public life, the limits of toleration, the balance between individual rights and one's obligation to others, and the extent to which public character should be shaped by private religious belief.
The Presbyterians
This addition to the Denominations in America series surveys the history of the Presbyterian Church in the United States and includes a biographical dictionary of its principal figures. The work begins with a narrative survey of the history of the Presbyterian tradition from its roots in Europe to its manifestations in contemporary America. The biographical dictionary that follows contains alphabetically arranged profiles of traditional clergymen, along with sketches of leaders who were instrumental in shaping the American Presbyterian tradition. The reference concludes with a chronology and an insightful bibliographic essay.