Skip to main content

Domestic Violence Awareness

Domestic Violence Awareness

This guide contains information on McKee Library's collection of resources relating to Domestic Violence Awareness, including recommended books for further reading and films. For more information on the individual titles, please click the link to view the complete record in the library's catalog.

Featured Works

Crazy Love

At 22, Leslie Morgan Steiner seemed to have it all: a Harvard diploma, a glamorous job at Seventeen magazine, a downtown New York City apartment. Plus a handsome, funny, street-smart boyfriend who adored her. But behind her fa├žade of success, this golden girl hid a dark secret. She'd made a mistake shared by millions: she fell in love with the wrong person.At first Leslie and Conor seemed as perfect together as their fairy-tale wedding. Then came the fights she tried to ignore: he pushed her down the stairs of the house they bought together, poured coffee grinds over her hair as she dressed for a critical job interview, choked her during an argument, and threatened her with a gun. Several times, he came close to making good on his threat to kill her. With each attack, Leslie lost another piece of herself.Gripping and utterly compelling, Crazy Love takes you inside the violent, devastating world of abusive love. Conor said he'd been abused since he was a young boy, and love and rage danced intimately together in his psyche. Why didn't Leslie leave? She stayed because she loved him. Find out for yourself if she had fallen truly in love - or into a psychological trap. Crazy Love will draw you in - and never let go.

Domestic Violence

How can domestic violence be prevented? -- The Duluth model of treatment is effective / Second responder programs are effective / Second responder programs are not effective / Enforcing restraining orders will curb domestic violence/ Restraining orders cannot prevent some domestic violence / For further discussion -- Organizations to contact -- Bibliography of books -- Index.
Presents a series of essays with varying viewpoints on the subject of domestic violence. Includes a list of organizations to contact.

But He'll Change: Ending the Thinking that Keeps You in Abusive Relationships

A survivor of domestic violence offers women the tools needed to work through the excuses they tell themselves that keep them in abusive relationships--and to make positive changes in their lives. He loves me. He has a really sweet side. I am all he has. If only his boss wouldn't put him under so much stress. At least he doesn't hit me. He won't do it again. I can't do anything right.In this compassionate book, Joanna V. Hunter helps women face, head on, the excuses they tell themselves that keep them in abusive relationships. Using expert advice complemented by her story and the stories of dozens of other women who have survived and turned away from domestic violence, Hunter teaches women to identify the lies they've accepted, understand what healthy thinking sounds like, stop taking the blame for their partner's behavior, identify power and control plays, and stick up for their own needs and plans for their safety.With each self-defeating message addressed in But He'll Change,Hunter offers counter messages designed to help women build strength and hope. Readers will develop the tools to operate not as victims, but as survivors, understanding the power that they hold to change their lives.

Ending Intimate Abuse: Practical Guidance and Survival Strategies

This is the first book to examine domestic violence in terms of a continuum of five distinct categories or levels of woman battering. This book, based on 501 in-depth qualitative interviews, places emphasis on how to recognize the warning signs of a dangerous relationship and urges women who have been battered in a dating, cohabiting, or marital relationship to end it quickly. This very practical and comprehensive study, which took more than seven years to complete, includes a step by step safety protocol and survival guidelines. The primary advantage of this new classification system is that professional counselors, social works, criminal justice professionals, and advocates will be better prepared with diagnostic indicators, risk factors, legal remedies, and ways to assess severity and potential lethality of abusive incidents. Detailed case histories are provided of formerly battered women of varying ages and backgrounds. Ending Intimate Abuse examines critical incidents in childhood and adolescence, the first and worst battering incidents, crises precipitants and traumatic events, and the turning points that led to women breaking off with their abusive boyfriends or husbands permanently. The authors are a husband (professor and researcher) and wife (women's health advocate) team who firmly believe that this book is designed to prepare professionals, parents, and concerned young women to understand the often complicated dynamics that differentiate the women who end the relationship soon after being battered from the women who stay. The book includes a national directory of domestic violence hotlines and intervention programs and a detailed glossary of key terms. It also includes several chapters with empirically based date rape prevention guidelines as well as the latest methods for improving police and court responses on the college campus and in the community.