Accessible Archives provides vast quantities of primary source materials reflecting broad views across 18th and 19th century America.
Fourteen fully-searchable databases covering American History, African American Studies, Women’s History, the Civil War and Genealogy allow access to the rich archival store of historical and cultural information published in leading books, newspapers and periodicals from the colonial and early America eras.
Founded in 1990, Accessible Archives utilizes computer technology and a team of conversion specialists to provide vast quantities of archived historical information previously available only in microformat, hard copy or as images only. Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture have been assembled into comprehensive databases providing eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations and genealogical records.. Developed by dedicated instructors and students of Americana, these databases allow access to the rich store of materials from leading books, newspapers and periodicals then current. Accessible Archives will continue to add titles covering important topics and time periods to assist scholars and students at all academic levels.
America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
(EBSCO) Documents the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.
History, society, and everyday life of the U.S. in a variety of primary source documents and media.
With over 2,000 primary source documents and 700 pieces of multimedia, Annals of American History is an excellent resource for expanding your understanding of the history and culture of the United States. Documents and media are grouped into different periods or they can be searched by author or subject. Guided tour link option provided on main page.
The Digital Library of Tennessee provides access to rare and unique primary sources housed in libraries, archives, and museums in the state of Tennessee. Explore photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories, maps, original art, music, material culture, and archival material that documents the cultural heritage of the state of Tennessee from the Pre-Columbian era to the present.
(EBSCO) World history from the 15th century to the present. Covers related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Full text of more than 540 journals and 140 books. Indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages. Coverage dating back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. Searchable cited references for more than 500 journals
Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, this authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from thousands of journals in a wide variety of languages. Coverage includes world history, military history, women’s history, history of education and much more.
(ProQuest) Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection.
This collection brings together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. It currently contains over 102,000 pages
Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher, this collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.