McKee Library

Community Patrons

08/24/2020

Jessica Spears

0 Comments

No Subjects

McKee Library Reopening August 24

08/20/2020

Jessica Spears

0 Comments

We are excited to announce that McKee Library is reopening Monday, August 24.

All visitors to McKee Library are required to wear a face mask and the university health check wristband. No eating or drinking is allowed in the library this semester.

IMPORTANT: Community visitors are required to have an appointment to enter the library. Please contact Carol Harrison to schedule your appointment.

No Subjects

New Library Database: Primal Pictures

08/04/2020

Jessica Spears

0 Comments

undefined

McKee Library is excited to announce the addition of Primal Pictures to our database collection.

Primal Pictures is a human anatomy database that offers the most complete, detailed, and accurate 3D models of human anatomy. Students can engage with 3D models using intuitive functions to rotate, add or remove anatomy, and identify and learn more about any visible structure. As a professor, you can easily embed dynamic images and content into the learning management system.

Primal Pictures can be accessed through McKee Library’s A to Z database list and from select research guides.

Below are resources to help you as you learn more about this powerful database:

Primal Pictures 3D Human Anatomy & Physiology Quick Start Guide - Video demo
3D Anatomy & Physiology Point and Click Guide
Primal Pictures 3D Anatomy & Physiology User Guide – Detailed PDF guide
Embeddable Viewer Point and Click Guide – Learn how to embed content
Embeddable Viewer FAQs

Let us know if you would like to schedule an in-depth webinar for your department or have any specific questions. Please contact Donald Martin at dvmartin@southern.edu if you have issues accessing any McKee Library database.

McKee Library

No Subjects

Subjects

Allied Health

Biology

Culinary Arts

Education

English

Health and Kinesiology

History

Inter-Disciplinary

Nursing

Political Studies

Recent Posts

Thanksgiving Break at McKee Library 2025

...

Celebrate Native American Heritage Month This November

Join us in honoring Native American Heritage Month, celebrated each year in November. Discover stories that highlight the rich contributions and diverse voices of Native American authors. McKee Library warmly invites you to explore our display on the library’s main floor featuring a curated selection of books. We invite you to explore the titles below, as well as our Native Americans: History, Culture, & Tribes: Native American Heritage research guide, to explore the history and culture of Native American tribes. An American Sunrise by Joy Harjo Call Number: PS3558.A62423 A64 2020ISBN: 0393358488Publication Date: 2020-08-18National Bestseller A stunning new volume from the first Native American Poet Laureate of the United States, informed by her tribal history and connection to the land. In the early 1800s, the Mvskoke people were forcibly removed from their original lands east of the Mississippi to Indian Territory, which is now part of Oklahoma. Two hundred years later, Joy Harjo returns to her family's lands and opens a dialogue with history. In An American Sunrise, Harjo finds blessings in the abundance of her homeland and confronts the site where her people, and other indigenous families, essentially disappeared. From her memory of her mother's death, to her beginnings in the native rights movement, to the fresh road with her beloved, Harjo's personal life intertwines with tribal histories to create a space for renewed beginnings. Her poems sing of beauty and survival, illuminating a spirituality that connects her to her ancestors and thrums with the quiet anger of living in the ruins of injustice. A descendent of storytellers and "one of our finest--and most complicated--poets" (Los Angeles Review of Books), Joy Harjo continues her legacy with this latest powerful collection. This Land Is Their Land by David J. Silverman Call Number: E99.W2 S545 2019ISBN: 9781632869241Publication Date: 2019-11-05Ahead of the 400th Anniversary of the first Thanksgiving, a new look at the Plymouth colony's founding events, told for the first time from the perspective of the Wampanoag natives. In March 1621, when Plymouth's survival was hanging in the balance, the Wampanoag sachem (or chief) Ousamequin (Massasoit) and Plymouth's governor John Carver declared their people's friendship for each other and a commitment to mutual defense. Later that autumn, the English gathered their first successful harvest and lifted the specter of starvation. Ousmaequin and ninety of his men then visited Plymouth for the "First Thanksgiving." The treaty remained operative until King Philip's War in 1675, when fifty years of uneasy peace between the two parties would come to an end. 400 years after that famous meal, historian David J. Silverman sheds a profound new light on the events that led to the creation, and bloody dissolution, of this alliance. From the vantage of the Wampanoag Indians, Silverman deepens the narrative to consider tensions that developed well before 1620 and lasted long after the devastating war tracing the Wampanoags' ongoing struggle for self-determination up to this very day. This unsettling history reveals why some modern Native people hold a Day of Mourning on Thanksgiving, a holiday which celebrates a myth of colonialism and white proprietorship of the United States. No Reason to Give Thanks shows that it is time to rethink how we, as a pluralistic nation, tell the history of Thanksgiving. Empire of the Summer Moon: Quanah Parker and the Rise and Fall of the Comanches, the Most Powerful Indian Tribe in American History by S. C. Gwynne Call Number: E99 .C85 P3835 2010ISBN: 1416591052Publication Date: 2010-05-25Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize In the tradition of Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, a stunningly vivid historical account of the forty-year battle between Comanche Indians and white settlers for control of the American West, centering on Quanah, the greatest Comanche chief of them all. S. C. Gwynne's Empire of the Summer Moon spans two astonishing stories. The first traces the rise and fall of the Comanches, the most powerful Indian tribe in American history. The second entails one of the most remarkable narratives ever to come out of the Old West: the epic saga of the pioneer woman Cynthia Ann Parker and her mixed-blood son Quanah, who became the last and greatest chief of the Comanches. Although readers may be more familiar with the tribal names Apache and Sioux, it was in fact the legendary fighting ability of the Comanches that determined just how and when the American West opened up. Comanche boys became adept bareback riders by age six; full Comanche braves were considered the best horsemen who ever rode. They were so masterful at war and so skillful with their arrows and lances that they stopped the northern drive of colonial Spain from Mexico and halted the French expansion westward from Louisiana. White settlers arriving in Texas from the eastern United States were surprised to find the frontier being rolled backward by Comanches incensed by the invasion of their tribal lands. So effective were the Comanches that they forced the creation of the Texas Rangers and account for the advent of the new weapon specifically designed to fight them: the six-gun. The war with the Comanches lasted four decades, in effect holding up the development of the new American nation. Gwynne's exhilarating account delivers a sweeping narrative that encompasses Spanish colonialism, the Civil War, the destruction of the buffalo herds, and the arrival of the railroads--a historical feast for anyone interested in how the United States came into being. Against this backdrop Gwynne presents the compelling drama of Cynthia Ann Parker, a lovely nine-year-old girl with cornflower-blue eyes who was kidnapped by Comanches from the far Texas frontier in 1836. She grew to love her captors and became infamous as the "White Squaw" who refused to return until her tragic capture by Texas Rangers in 1860. More famous still was her son Quanah, a warrior who was never defeated and whose guerrilla wars in the Texas Panhandle made him a legend. S. C. Gwynne's account of these events is meticulously researched, intellectually provocative, and, above all, thrillingly told. Empire of the Summer Moon announces him as a major new writer of American history. Unworthy Republic by Claudio Saunt Call Number: E98.R4 S38 2020ISBN: 0393609847Publication Date: 2020-03-24In May 1830, the United States formally launched a policy to expel Native Americans from the East to territories west of the Mississippi River. Justified as a humanitarian enterprise, the undertaking was to be systematic and rational, overseen by Washington's small but growing bureaucracy. But as the policy unfolded over the next decade, thousands of Native Americans died under the federal government's auspices, and thousands of others lost their possessions and homelands in an orgy of fraud, intimidation, and violence. Unworthy Republic reveals how expulsion became national policy and describes the chaotic and deadly results of the operation to deport 80,000 men, women, and children.Drawing on firsthand accounts and the voluminous records produced by the federal government, Saunt's deeply researched book argues that Indian Removal, as advocates of the policy called it, was not an inevitable chapter in U.S. expansion across the continent. Rather, it was a fiercely contested political act designed to secure new lands for the expansion of slavery and to consolidate the power of the southern states. Indigenous peoples fought relentlessly against the policy, while many U.S. citizens insisted that it was a betrayal of the nation's values. When Congress passed the act by a razor-thin margin, it authorized one of the first state-sponsored mass deportations in the modern era, marking a turning point for native peoples and for the United States.In telling this gripping story, Saunt shows how the politics and economics of white supremacy lay at the heart of the expulsion of Native Americans; how corruption, greed, and administrative indifference and incompetence contributed to the debacle of its implementation; and how the consequences still resonate today. The Heart of Everything That Is by Bob Drury; Tom Clavin Call Number: E99 .O3 R3725 2013ISBN: 1451654669Publication Date: 2013-11-05NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An astonishing untold story of the American West The great Sioux warrior-statesman Red Cloud was the only American Indian in history to defeat the United States Army in a war, forcing the government to sue for peace on his terms. At the peak of Red Cloud's powers the Sioux could claim control of one-fifth of the contiguous United States and the loyalty of thousands of fierce fighters. But the fog of history has left Red Cloud strangely obscured. Now, thanks to the rediscovery of a lost autobiography, and painstaking research by two award-winning authors, the story of our nation's most powerful and successful Indian warrior can finally be told. Born in 1821 near the Platte River in modern-day Nebraska, Red Cloud lived an epic life of courage, wisdom, and fortitude in the face of a relentless enemy--the soldiers and settlers who represented the "manifest destiny" of an expanding America. He grew up an orphan and had to overcome numerous social disadvantages to advance in Sioux culture. Red Cloud did that by being the best fighter, strategist, and leader of his fellow warriors. As the white man pushed farther and farther west, they stole the Indians' land, slaughtered the venerated buffalo, and murdered with impunity anyone who resisted their intrusions. The final straw for Red Cloud and his warriors was the U.S. government's frenzied spate of fort building throughout the pristine Powder River Country that abutted the Sioux's sacred Black Hills--Paha Sapa to the Sioux, or "The Heart of Everything That Is." The result was a gathering of angry tribes under one powerful leader. "The white man lies and steals," Red Cloud told his thousands of braves at council fire. "My lodges were many, now they are few. The white man wants all. They must fight for it." What came to be known as Red Cloud's War (1866-1868) culminated in a massacre of American cavalry troops that presaged the Little Bighorn and served warning to Washington that the Plains Indians would fight, and die, for their land and traditions. But many more American soldiers would die first. In The Heart of Everything That Is, Bob Drury and Tom Clavin, the New York Times bestselling authors of Halsey's Typhoon and The Last Stand of Fox Company, restore Red Cloud to his rightful place in American history in a sweeping and dramatic narrative based on years of primary research. As they trace the events leading to Red Cloud's War they provide intimate portraits of the many and various men and women whose lives Red Cloud touched--mountain men such as the larger-than-life Jim Bridger; U.S. generals like William Tecumseh Sherman who were charged with annihilating the Sioux; fearless explorers such as the dashing John Bozeman; and the warriors whom Red Cloud groomed, the legendary Crazy Horse in particular. And residing at the heart of the story is Red Cloud, fighting for the very existence of the Indian way of life. This fiery narrative, fueled by contemporary diaries and journals, newspaper reports, eyewitness accounts, and meticulous firsthand sourcing, is a stirring chronicle of the conflict between an expanding white civilization and the Plains Indians who stood in its way. The Heart of Everything That Is not only places the reader at the center of this remarkable epoch, but finally gives Red Cloud the modern-day recognition he deserves. The Rediscovery of America by Ned Blackhawk Call Number: E77 .B64 2023ISBN: 9780300244052Publication Date: 2023-04-25National Bestseller Winner of the 2023 National Book Award in Nonfiction * Finalist for the 2023 Los Angeles Times Book Award in History * Winner of 2024 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award in Nonfiction * Winner of the 2024 Mark Lynton History Prize Named a best book of 2023 by New Yorker, Esquire, Publishers Weekly, Barnes & Noble A New York Times Notable Book of 2023 * A Washington Post Notable Work of Nonfiction of 2023 * An NPR "Book We Love" for 2023 "Eloquent and comprehensive. . . . In the book's sweeping synthesis, standard flashpoints of U.S. history take on new meaning."--Kathleen DuVal, Wall Street Journal "In accounts of American history, Indigenous peoples are often treated as largely incidental--either obstacles to be overcome or part of a narrative separate from the arc of nation-building. Blackhawk . . . [shows] that Native communities have, instead, been inseparable from the American story all along."--Washington Post Book World, "Books to Read in 2023" A sweeping and overdue retelling of U.S. history that recognizes that Native Americans are essential to understanding the evolution of modern America The most enduring feature of U.S. history is the presence of Native Americans, yet most histories focus on Europeans and their descendants. This long practice of ignoring Indigenous history is changing, however, as a new generation of scholars insists that any full American history address the struggle, survival, and resurgence of American Indian nations. Indigenous history is essential to understanding the evolution of modern America. Ned Blackhawk interweaves five centuries of Native and non‑Native histories, from Spanish colonial exploration to the rise of Native American self-determination in the late twentieth century. In this transformative synthesis he shows that * European colonization in the 1600s was never a predetermined success; * Native nations helped shape England's crisis of empire; * the first shots of the American Revolution were prompted by Indian affairs in the interior; * California Indians targeted by federally funded militias were among the first casualties of the Civil War; * the Union victory forever recalibrated Native communities across the West; * twentieth-century reservation activists refashioned American law and policy. Blackhawk's retelling of U.S. history acknowledges the enduring power, agency, and survival of Indigenous peoples, yielding a truer account of the United States and revealing anew the varied meanings of America. Living Nations, Living Words by Joy Harjo (Editor); Carla D. Hayden (Foreword by); The Library of Congress (As told to) Call Number: PS591.I55 L56 2021ISBN: 9780393867916Publication Date: 2021-05-04Joy Harjo, the first Native poet to serve as U.S. Poet Laureate, has championed the voices of Native peoples past and present. Her signature laureate project gathers the work of contemporary Native poets into a national, fully digital map of story, sound, and space, celebrating their vital and unequivocal contributions to American poetry. This companion anthology features each poem and poet from the project-including Natalie Diaz, Ray Young Bear, Craig Santos Perez, Sherwin Bitsui, and Layli Long Soldier, among others-to offer readers a chance to hold the wealth of poems in their hands. The chosen poems reflect on the theme of place and displacement and circle the touchpoints of visibility, persistence, resistance, and acknowledgment. Each poem showcases, as Joy Harjo writes in her stirring introduction, "that heritage is a living thing, and there can be no heritage without land and the relationships that outline our kinship." In this country, poetry is rooted in the more than five hundred living indigenous nations. Living Nations, Living Words is a representative offering....

Celebrate National Book Month

October marks National Book Month. What could be better than commemorating it with a book from McKee Library? If you prefer audiobooks, don’t miss our expanding collection available on Libby (formerly OverDrive). Whether you're a fan of fiction, non-fiction, or anything in between, there’s something for everyone to enjoy. Dive into a classic novel or learn something new with a non-fiction bestseller.We invite students to participate in our National Book Month Passport to Reading challenge. Complete five simple tasks for a chance to win prizes. Passports can be picked up at McKee Library and must be completed by October 30 at noon for your chance to win. Prizes will be awarded as the challenge is completed and while supplies last. Please contact Jessica Spears with any questions....

World Vegetarian Day

Did you know that October 1 is World Vegetarian Day? It’s a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the many benefits of a vegetarian lifestyle, from health improvements to environmental sustainability. To help you explore this delicious and diverse way of eating, we invite you to visit the McKee Library's extensive collection of vegetarian cookbooks. Our selection includes a variety of cuisines and culinary styles, ensuring that there’s something for everyone, whether you’re a seasoned vegetarian or just curious about incorporating more plant-based meals into your diet. You’ll find everything from quick and easy recipes for busy weeknights to gourmet dishes for special occasions. Works in McKee Library's Collection The Forest Feast: Simple Vegetarian Recipes from My Cabin in the Woods by Erin Gleeson (Illustrator) Call Number: TX837 .G574 2014ISBN: 1617690813Publication Date: 2014-04-15Erin Gleeson made her dream a reality when she left New York City and moved into a tiny cabin in a California forest in order to be closer to nature. The natural beauty of her surroundings and the abundance of local produce serve as the inspiration for The Forest Feast, based on her popular blog. Most of the book's 100 wholly vegetarian recipes call for only three or four ingredients and require very few steps, resulting in dishes that are fresh, wholesome, delicious, and stunning. Among the delightful recipes are eggplant tacos with brie and cilantro, rosemary shortbread, and blackberry negroni. Vibrant photographs, complemented by Erin's own fanciful watercolor illustrations and hand lettering, showcase the rustic simplicity of the dishes. Part cookbook, part art book, The Forest Feast will be as comfortable in the kitchen as on the coffee table. Also available from Erin Gleeson: The Forest Feast Gatherings and The Forest Feast for Kids. Mediterranean Harvest by Martha Rose Shulman Call Number: TX837 .S322 2007ISBN: 9781594862342Publication Date: 2007-10-30Intensely flavorful and inherently healthy, Mediterranean food is one of the world's most appealing cuisines. Mediterranean cooks know how to make eating a pleasure. They do it simply--with olive oil and garlic; with herbs and spices; with tomatoes and eggplants, peppers and squash, figs and peaches, and other seasonal produce. And of course there is crusty bread and local cheese, the freshest yogurt and endless wine. In this authoritative and anecdotal cookbook, award-winning author Martha Rose Shulman captures the vibrant flavors of the Mediterranean region in more than 500 delicious vegetarian dishes that will appeal to everyone. The book represents years of meticulous research gleaned from Shulman's travels through France, Spain, Italy, the Balkans, Greece, Turkey, North Africa, and the Middle East. She presents authentic contemporary variations as well. You'll dine with her in Greek olive groves, feast on torecipes handed down from mother to daughter for generations, and she offers her own matoes and fresh sardines in Croatia, savor coffee gelato in the streets of Bologna. At every turn in the road there is a new culinary reward. Whether you are a vegetarian or a dedicated meat eater, Shulman's recipes are substantial enough to satisfy any appetite. Included are such tempting creations as Majorcan Bread and Vegetable Soup, Provençal Chick Pea Salad, Pasta with Ligurian Artichoke Sauce, Greek Cauliflower Gratin with Feta and Olives, Balkan-Style Moussaka, North African Carrot "Compote," and Sweet Dessert Couscous with Citrus and Pomegranate. There is also an entire chapter devoted to the renowned "little foods" of the Mediterranean: tapas from Spain, antipasti and merende from Italy; meze from the eastern and southern Mediterranean, and more. In addition, the book features a glossary of useful cookware and indispensable pantry staples and the best online sources for hard-to-find ingredients. As Martha Rose Shulman herself says, "Mediterranean food enthralls me." Readers of this classic will be enthralled as well. The Korean Vegan Cookbook by Joanne Lee Molinaro Call Number: TX724.5.K65 L48 2021ISBN: 9780593084274Publication Date: 2021-10-12THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER . NAMED ONE OF THE BEST NEW COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Epicurious . EATER . Stained Page . Infatuation . Spruce Eats . Publisher's Weekly . Food52 . Toronto Star The dazzling debut cookbook from Joanne Lee Molinaro, the home cook and spellbinding storyteller behind the online sensation @thekoreanvegan Joanne Lee Molinaro has captivated millions of fans with her powerfully moving personal tales of love, family, and food. In her debut cookbook, she shares a collection of her favorite Korean dishes, some traditional and some reimagined, as well as poignant narrative snapshots that have shaped her family history. As Joanne reveals, she's often asked, "How can you be vegan and Korean?" Korean cooking is, after all, synonymous with fish sauce and barbecue. And although grilled meat is indeed prevalent in some Korean food, the ingredients that filled out bapsangs on Joanne's table growing up-doenjang (fermented soybean paste), gochujang (chili sauce), dashima (seaweed), and more-are fully plant-based, unbelievably flavorful, and totally Korean.Some of the recipes come straight from her childhood- Jjajangmyun, the rich Korean-Chinese black bean noodles she ate on birthdays, or the humble Gamja Guk, a potato-and-leek soup her father makes. Some pay homage- Chocolate Sweet Potato Cake is an ode to the two foods that saved her mother's life after she fled North Korea. The Korean Vegan Cookbook is a rich portrait of the immigrant experience with life lessons that are universal. It celebrates how deeply food and the ones we love shape our identity. Forks Over Knives: The Cookbook by Del Sroufe; Isa Chandra Moskowitz (Contribution by); Julieanna Hever (Contribution by); Darshana Thacker (Contribution by); Judy Micklewright (Contribution by) Call Number: TX837 .S717 2012ISBN: 9781615190614Publication Date: 2012-08-14The secret is out: If you want to lose weight, lower your cholesterol, avoid cancer, and prevent (or even reverse) type 2 diabetes and heart disease, the right food is your best medicine--and the Forks Over Knives way is your solution. Forks Over Knives--the book, the film, and the movement--is the international phenomenon that first emphasized the benefits of plant-based eating, and thousands of people have cut out meat, dairy, and oils from their diet and seen amazing results. If you're one of them, or you'd like to be, you need this cookbook. Forks Over Knives--The Cookbook proves that the Forks Over Knives philosophy is not about what you can't eat, but what you can. Chef Del Sroufe, the man behind some of the mouthwatering meals in the landmark documentary, and his collaborators transform wholesome fruits, vegetables, grains, and legumes into hundreds of recipes--classic and unexpected, globally and seasonally inspired, and for every meal of the day, all through the year: Breakfast: Very Berry Smoothie, Breakfast Quinoa with Apple Compote Salads, Soups and Stews: Kale Salad with Maple-Mustard Dressing, Lotsa Vegetable Chowder, Lucky Black-Eyed Pea Stew Pasta and Noodle Dishes: Mushroom Stroganoff, Stir-Fried Noodles with Spring Vegetables Stir-Fried, Grilled and Hashed Vegetables: Grilled Eggplant "Steaks" Baked and Stuffed Vegetables: Millet-Stuffed Chard Rolls The Amazing Bean: White Beans and Escarole with Parsnips Great Grains: Polenta Pizza with Tomatoes and Basil Desserts: Apricot Fig Squares, Bursting with Berries Cobbler . . . and much more! Simple, affordable, and delicious, the recipes in Forks Over Knives--The Cookbook put the power of real, healthy food in your hands. Join the Forks Over Knives movement and start cooking the plant-based way today--it could save your life! How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman Call Number: TX837 .B5284 2017ISBN: 9781118455647Publication Date: 2017-11-07The ultimate guide to meatless meals, completely updated and better than ever, now for the first time featuring color photos Ten years ago, this breakthrough cookbook made vegetarian cooking accessible to everyone. Today, the issues surrounding a plant-based diet--health, sustainability, and ethics--continue to resonate with more and more Americans, whether or not they're fully vegetarian. This new edition has been completely reviewed and revised to stay relevant to today's cooks: New recipes include more vegan options and a brand-new chapter on smoothies, teas, and more. Charts, variations, and other key information have been updated. And, new for this edition, the recipes are showcased in bright full-color photos throughout. With these photos and a host of recipes destined to become new favorites, this already classic vegetarian cookbook will continue to be more indispensable than ever. Meatless by Martha Stewart Martha Stewart Living Call Number: TX837 .M473 2013ISBN: 9780307954565Publication Date: 2013-01-08For anyone new to a vegetarian diet--flexitarians who adopt plans like Meatless Mondays--as well as committed vegetarians and fans of Power Foods, here is a comprehensive collection of easy, meat-free mains for everyday. As inspiring as it is practical, Meatless features 200 recipes--each accompanied by a gorgeous photograph--for full-fledged vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. You'll find recipes for classics and new favorites, plus plenty of low-fat, vegan, and gluten-free options, too. More than just a cookbook, Meatless is also a roadmap to embracing a vegetable-based lifestyle. Here are dozens of versatile recipes that can be easily adapted, such as pizza with a variety of toppings, salads made from different whole grains, and pestos with unexpected flavors and ingredients. You'll also find advice on stocking your pantry with vegetarian essentials (dried beans, pasta, herbs and spices), a collection of basic recipes and techniques (vegetable stock, tomato sauce, polenta), and make-ahead flavor-boosters (caramelized onions, roasted peppers, and quick pickles). Comprehensive and indispensable, Meatless makes it easy to prepare flavor-packed dinners for any day, any occasion. And no one will miss the meat. Selections include: * Small Plates to Mix and Match: Smashed Chickpea, Basil, and Radish Dip with Pita Chips; Roasted Baby Potatoes with Romesco Sauce; Stuffed Marinated Hot Red Chili Peppers; Grilled Polenta with Balsamic Mushrooms * Stovetop Suppers: Frittata with Asparagus, Goat Cheese, and Herbs; Spring Vegetable Ragout; Farro Risotto with Wild Mushrooms; Southwestern Hash * Soups, Stews, and Chili: Tomato Soup with Poached Eggs; Bean Chili; White Cheddar Corn Chowder; Chickpea Curry with Roasted Cauliflower and Tomatoes * Casseroles and other Baked Dishes: Ricotta and Spinach Stuffed Shells; Italian Baked Eggplant with Seitan; Black-Bean Tortilla Cassero≤ Apple, Leek, and Squash Gratin * Substantial Salads: Raw Kale Salad with Pomegranate and Toasted Walnuts; Avocado, Beet, and Orange Salad; Arugula, Potato, and Green Bean Salad with Creamy Walnut Dressing; Roasted-Tomato Tabbouleh * Sandwiches, Burgers, and Pizzas: Quinoa Veggie Burgers; Grilled Asparagus and Ricotta Pizza; Chipotle Avocado Sandwich; Portobello and Zucchini Tacos * Pasta and Other Noodles: Fettuccine with Parsley-Walnut Pesto; Roasted Cauliflower with Pasta and Lemon Zest; Soba and Tofu in Ginger Broth; No-Bake Lasagna with Ricotta and Tomatoes * Simple Side Dishes: Mexican Creamed Corn; Cabbage and Green Apple Slaw; Shredded Brussels Sprouts with Pecans and Mustard Seeds; Baked Polenta "Fries" Vegetarian India by Madhur Jaffrey Call Number: TX724.5 .I4 J314 2015ISBN: 9781101874868Publication Date: 2015-10-27The "queen of Indian cooking" (Saveur) and seven-time James Beard Award-winning author shares the delectable, healthful, vegetable- and grain-based foods enjoyed around the Indian subcontinent. "The world's best-known ambassador of Indian cuisine travels the subcontinent to showcase the vast diversity of vegetarian dishes. Best of all: She makes them doable for the Western cook." --The Washington Post Vegetarian cooking is a way of life for more than 300 million Indians. Jaffrey travels from north to south, and from the Arabian Sea to the Bay of Bengal, collecting recipes for the very tastiest dishes along the way. She visits the homes and businesses of shopkeepers, writers, designers, farmers, doctors, weavers, and more, gathering their stories and uncovering the secrets of their most delicious family specialties. From a sweet, sour, hot, salty Kodava Mushroom Curry with Coconut originating in the forested regions of South Karnataka to simple, crisp Okra Fries dusted with chili powder, turmeric, and chickpea flour; and from Stir-Fried Spinach, Andhra Style (with ginger, coriander, and cumin) to the mung bean pancakes she snacks on at a roadside stand, here Jaffrey brings together the very best of vegetable-centric Indian cuisine and explains how home cooks can easily replicate these dishes--and many more for beans, grains, and breads--in their own kitchens. With more than two hundred recipes, beautifully illustrated throughout, and including personal photographs from Jaffrey's own travels, Vegetarian India is a kitchen essential for vegetable enthusiasts and home cooks everywhere. East Meets Vegan by Sasha Gill ISBN: 9781615195633Publication Date: 2019-03-05A vibrant tour of Asia in 90 vegan recipes When Sasha Gill went vegan, she wasn't about to leave her family's home-cooked favorites behind. Pad thai without fish sauce? Curry without ghee? In East Meets Vegan, Sasha proves that Asian cooking can be plant-based--as well as easy, affordable, and delicious! Here are: Veganized favorites: Spring rolls, red bean pancakes, shiitake ramen, mango lassis Can't-believe-it's-vegan twists: Tandoori cauliflower "wings," pineapple fried rice, jackfruit biryani, "butter chicken," a sushi feast to feed a crowd Mix-and-match pairings: Combine leftovers for your own take on Asian fusion. Bursting with more than 100 sumptuous photographs, this is your passport to a culinary adventure--from the comfort of your kitchen. The Southern Vegetarian Cookbook by Amy Lawrence; Justin Fox Burks; Justin L. Burks Call Number: TX715.2 .S68 B874 2013ISBN: 9781401604820Publication Date: 2013-05-21Anyone not adequately acquainted with the South's true culinary terrain might struggle with the idea of a Southern vegetarian. Justin Fox Burks and Amy Lawrence turn that notion on its head by recasting garden bounty as the headlining act on a plate. In a region distinguished by ideal growing conditions and generations of skilled farmers, Southern-style vegetarian cooking is not only possible but a pursuit brimming with vine-ripened possibility. Grab a chair in Burks and Lawrence's kitchen and discover modern recipes that evoke the flavors of traditional Southern cooking. The Southern Vegetarian Cookbook is filled with techniques, ingredients and dishes loved so dearly throughout the region including: Lemon Zest and Thyme Pimento Cheese, Grilled Watermelon and Tomato Salad with Honey Lime Vinaigrette, Okra Fritters with Creole Mustard Sauce, Vegetarian Red Beans and Rice with Andouille Eggplant, Roast Beet Salad with Sea Salt Granola and Honey Tarragon Dressing, Grilled Peach Ice Cream and more! Despite the stigma that the South is one big feast of meaty indulgence, Burks and Lawrence are adding health substance to the definition of Southern food. Whether you're a devoted plant-eater or a steadfast omnivore, The Southern Vegetarian Cookbook will help you shift vegetables from the outskirts of your plate into main course position. Eating your vegetables has never been more delicious. Even more recommendations, including films, are available on the library’s digital reading list. ...