McKee Library

An art exhibit, featuring the works of Pastor Jason Shaw, is now on exhibit on McKee Library's second floor. Pastor Jason Shaw recently graduated from the theology department at SAU on May 5, 2019 and is now serving as associate pastor at Standifer Gap SDA Church. His artwork will be on exhibit now through February 28, 2019. 

A collection of origami created by Professor Robert Ordóñez is on exhibit on McKee Library's main floor. The works include a variety of intricate pieces of all sizes, handcrafted by Ordóñez. Professor Ordóñez has left several small pieces at the circulation desk for those who would like to take one home. The works will be on display through October 29, 2019. 

An art exhibit, featuring the works of Professor Ben Thornton, is now on exhibit on McKee Library's second floor. Thornton is a professor in the School of Biology at Southern Adventist University. The works will be on exhibit now through February 28, 2019. 

September 22 through 28 is National Banned Books Week, an annual event sponsored by the American Library Association. Check out one of these banned books from McKee Library today! 

Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? by Bill Martin

Call Number: Easy M379br

ISBN: 9780141501598

Publication Date: 1967

Banned by the State Board of Education in Texas in 2010 due to a simple mistake. A board member mixed up Martin with another author named Bill Martin who had written a book for adults titled "Ethical Marxism: The Categorical Imperative of Liberation."

 

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank; Miriam Pressler (Editor); Susan Massotty (Translator); Otto H. Frank

Call Number: D810.J4 F715 1952

ISBN: 0553577123

Publication Date: 1997

In 1983, four members of the Alabama State Textbook Committee called for the book's rejection because it is "a real downer." In 1998, the book was removed for two months from Baker Middle School in Corpus Christi, TX after two books called the book pornographic.

 

 

The Annotated Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe; Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Hollis Robbins

Call Number: PS2954 .U5 2007

ISBN: 9780393059465

Publication Date: 2006-11-17

Uncle Tom's Cabin sold 300,000 copies in the North alone. The Fugitive Slave Law, passed in 1850, could hardly be enforced by any of Stowe's readers. Although banned in most of the south, it served as another log on the growing fire.

 

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

Call Number: PS3551 .N464 Z466 2009

ISBN: 0345514408

Publication Date: 2009-04-21

In 1983, it was banned because the Alabama State Textbook Committee determined it incited ''bitterness and hatred toward white people.''

 

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

Call Number: PS1305 .A1 2010

ISBN: 1514637618

Publication Date: 2015-06-21

First published in February of 1885, the work was banned by March when librarians in Concord, Massachusetts deemed it “trash” and “suitable only for the slums.” This was the first book that was officially banned in the United States.

 

 

Animal Farm by George Orwell; Julian Symons (Introduction by)

Call Number: PR6029.R8 A7 1946

ISBN: 0679420398

Publication Date: 1993-05-25

A Wisconsin survey stated that the John Birch Society had challenged the novel's use in 1965, objecting to the words "masses will revolt." The work was later banned in the USSR and the United Arab Emirates.

 

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak (Illustrator)

Call Number: Easy S4746wh

ISBN: 0060254920

Publication Date: 2012-12-26

This title was banned throughout the Southern United States. Pen America blamed a, “prominent child psychologist Bruno Bettelheim, who wrote in Ladies’ Home Journal ‘What [Sendak] failed to understand is the incredible fear it evokes in the child to be sent to bed without supper, and this by the first and foremost giver of food and security—his mother.'”

 

 

 

September 17, 2019 is Constitution Day in the United States. A copy of Secret proceedings and debates of the Convention assembled at Philadelphia, in the year 1787, for the purpose of forming the Constitution of the United States of America from 1839 is part of McKee Library's Thomas Memorial Collection. 

The Thomas Memorial Collection contains materials related to Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War. Included in this collection are more than 2,700 volumes as well as authentic photos concerning Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War. A $10 check signed by Lincoln is also part of the collection and has been included in The Papers of Abraham Lincoln project. Other interesting materials include a piece of oak from the floor of Lincoln’s Springfield law office, a gavel made from a tree planted by Lincoln, and a section of his original marble sarcophagus. Several oil portraits of Lincoln also make up this collection. You can learn more about the Thomas Memorial Collection on our website. 

McKee Library is proud to partner with the Chattanooga Zoo to offer a zoo pass this academic year.  This pass grants access to the zoo for two adults and up to four children and may be checked out for a period of seven days.  To reserve the pass, please search for “Zoo Pass” on the library’s main page by typing it into the search box and clicking on the magnifying glass, or click here. Once located, select “Request” and complete the short form.  Please note that you must be signed in to place the request.  You will receive an email once the pass is available, which you can then pick up at the library’s circulation desk. We will hold it for you for up to two days.