- American Historical Review (other access options)
- American Historical Review 1895-2011
- American National Biography
Portraits of men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
- Ancient and Medieval History Online
Database of history and archaeology covering prehistory through the 1500s.
- Annals of American History Online
History, society, and everyday life of the U.S. in a variety of primary source documents and media.
- Digital Commons Network
Full-text-only scholarship (650,000+), providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
- Discovering American Women's History Online
Digital collections of primary sources documenting the history of women in the United States.
- Dissertations and Theses
(ProQuest) Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses.
- HeritageQuest Online
(ProQuest) A database of American genealogical resources, 2.3 million genealogy and local history articles.
- In the First Person
A landmark index to English language personal narratives covering both free and commercial sites.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive Archive contains a wide range of materials, freely available to all.
JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Military & Government Collection
(EBSCO) Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
- Military & Intelligence Database
(GALE) Designed to meet the periodical content needs of libraries serving military personnel.
- Southern Life
(GALE) Contains topics that directly relate to Southern living, both past and present.
- TeVA: Tennessee Virtual Archive
TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.
- Volunteer Voices
Digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, oral histories, artifacts, etc.) that document the history and culture of Tennessee.
- Web of Knowledge
(Thomson Reuters) A research platform to find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Academic OneFile
(GALE) A general database for academic research.
- Academic Search Premier
(EBSCO) A large general database with scholarly and popular magazine articles, many full text.
A digital library in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
- Films on Demand
Contains a variety of academic video collections.
- General OneFile
(GALE) A comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information.
- Tennessee Electronic Library
The Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) is a virtual library of free resources available to all Tennesseans.
- Wilson OmniFile
(EBSCO) Full text of articles from approximately 2,700 publications, many of them peer-reviewed.