- Accessible Archives
(Trial, ends May 24, 2013) Accessible Archives provides vast quantities of primary source materials reflecting broad views across 18th and 19th century America. Fourteen fully-searchable databases covering American History, African American Studies, Women’s History, the Civil War and Genealogy allow access to the rich archival store of historical and cultural information published in leading books, newspapers and periodicals from the colonial and early America eras.
- American National Biography
Portraits of men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
- Ancient and Medieval History Online
Database of history and archaeology covering prehistory through the 1500s.
- Annals of American History Online
History, society, and everyday life of the U.S. in a variety of primary source documents and media.
Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
- CQ Researcher
(SAGE) In-depth, unbiased coverage on issues in the news.
- Digital Commons Network
Full-text-only scholarship (650,000+), providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
- Discovering American Women's History Online
Digital collections of primary sources documenting the history of women in the United States.
- Dissertations and Theses
(ProQuest) Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses.
- HeritageQuest Online
(ProQuest) A database of American genealogical resources, 2.3 million genealogy and local history articles.
- In the First Person
A landmark index to English language personal narratives covering both free and commercial sites.
JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Pro & Con
Detailed reports presenting pros and cons on the leading debates of our time in Congress, the Supreme Court and International debates.
- Southern Life
(GALE) Contains topics that directly relate to Southern living, both past and present.
- TeVA: Tennessee Virtual Archive
TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.
- U.S. History Collection
(GALE) This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
- Volunteer Voices
Digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, oral histories, artifacts, etc.) that document the history and culture of Tennessee.
- Web of Knowledge
(Thomson Reuters) A research platform to find, analyze, and share information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- World History Collection
(GALE) This compilation of journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.